Sound / Alligator CD/LP

Alligator CD / LP

Preview / Purchase


  • 01. Secret Meeting - 3:44
  • 02. Karen - 3:59
  • 03. Lit Up - 2:55
  • 04. Looking for Astronauts - 3:23
  • 05. Daughters of the SoHo Riots - 3:59
  • 06. Baby, We'll Be Fine - 3:21
  • 07. Friend of Mine - 3:25
  • 08. Val Jester - 3:00
  • 09. All the Wine - 3:15
  • 10. Abel - 3:37
  • 11. The Geese of Beverly Road - 4:57
  • 12. City Middle - 4:28
  • 13. Mr. November - 3:57


Beggars Banquet Records BBQ-241-2 / BBQ-241-1
Released 12 April 2005

Recorded by Paul Mahajan at Drummerman studios, Jess and Ole's House and Headgear Studios Additional recording and production by Peter Katis at Tarquin Studios Mixed by Peter Katis Mastered by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound The National: Matt Berninger, Aaron Dessner, Bryce Dessner, Bryan Devendorf, Scott Devendorf Orchestration by Padma Newsome

Additional Musicians: An-Lin Bardin (Cello), Carin Besser (Vocals), Nathalie Dessner (vocals), Rachael Elliott (Bassoon), Peter Katis (vocals), Nick Lloyd (Piano, Organ, keyboards), Nate Martinez (guitar), Padma Newsome (Viola, Violin, piano, organ), Sara Phillips (Clarinet)

Management: Dawn Barger for Big Hassle Legal: Gillian Malken for Carroll, Guido and Groffman
Design: Distant Station Ltd. Photography: Mathieu Saura

Thanks to our families and friends: Greg Vegas, Jessica Dessner, Ole Sondresen, Nate Martinez, Southern US, Birgit Baldauf, Bruno Bayon, Amy Butterer, Paul Heck, Phillip Cooley, Sebastien Farcy, Rachael Finn, Helene Germain, Emma Hogan, Andreas Oberschelp, Bernard Lenoir, Michelle Soulier, Jeff Salem, Josh Kaufman, Geoff Mann, Josh Miller, Steven at Toutpartout, Kevin French, Joe Pernice, Ann Risen, Howard Monk, Ben Shillabeer, Jane Stables, Mia Doi Todd, Mauricio Carey, Yun Rhee, John Carlin, Laura Hruska, Juris Jurjevics, Murray Sinclaire Jr., Jess Levey, Ben Verdery, Field Study, Mathieu Saura, Luke Hughett, Marc Borkan, Emiko Shinozaki, Carin Besser, Nathalie Dessner, Liz Sliclen, Elizabeth Devendorf, Saskia Cornes, Mike Brewer, Cindy Vazquez, Amy Karkkainen, Marshall Curry, Graham MacIndoe, Zeina Farha and Gian-Luca

Special thanks To Dawn Barger, Alec Bemis, Sean Bouchard, Tom Duvall, Cathi Gibson, Nick Lloyd, Padma Newsome and Roger Trust

All songs written by The National (ASCAP)

Copyright 2005 Beggars Banquet Records Ltd. The copyright in this sound recording is owned by Beggars Banquet Records Ltd. All rights reserved.